Tags

, , , ,

If you follow me on Instagram, you’ve probably seen all of the cupcake bites I’ve been posting lately. Don’t get me wrong, I still love and adore cake pops, but these little treats are so quick to make!

But anyone can pour melted chocolate into a mold, right? Impress the pants off of your friends and family by adding some designs on the bottom!

For this tutorial, I’m only focusing on how to do the accent designs (that’s why the pictures will just show peanut butter cup shape pieces of chocolate). This technique can be easily incorporated into Cookie Bites or Cupcake Pops.

To get started, you need two basic pieces of equipment, both costing less than $2 each.

Most craft stores sell peanut butter cup mold trays. I prefer the Make’n Mold brand from AC Moore. Wilton’s mold is a wider diameter, and the mold cavities are more shallow, which doesn’t give you much room to hold on to when dipping the top part.

To create chocolate accents, you need to do make those designs first, before pouring in your main color of chocolate – this will make the accent and the rest of the mold to be one smooth piece of chocolate, which always makes my friends go, “how did you do that!!!?”.  Sssh, our secret 🙂

Dip your toothpick into the chocolate, and start decorating. An easy design to try first is polka dots… simply dab the chocolate randomly around the mold. You can also draw basic shapes like a heart.

After creating your accent designs, allow the chocolate to harden. To speed up this process, you can place the mold tray in the fridge or freezer for a few minutes.

My favorite accent technique is writing little messages. This can be a little challenging because you need to write the words backwards.

7Be cautious of creating narrow spaces when making your designs. Melted chocolate has a thicker consistency… its not thin like water which will get in every tiny crevice. For example, I tried making this chevron pattern…

But after I filled it with chocolate and it hardened, it left some tiny gaps in the corners of the “V”.

Temperature and consistency of your melted chocolate definitely play a big role here. The cooler your chocolate gets, the thicker it gets. Also, if your chocolate is just thicker in general, try mixing in some oil or paramount crystals to thin it out.

Unleash your creativity, the sky is really the limit on this one – try different shapes, words, color patterns, etc. And don’t forget, practice makes perfect. Here are some ideas I did recently to get you started…

A word of caution when cleaning your peanut butter cup molds… do NOT put them in the dishwasher or clean them with really hot water… the plastic melts, warps and loses its shape. Luke warm water does the trick just fine.

I often get asked what molds I use, or how I get my cookie/cake balls to fit just right into the mold cavities… so, I’m going to give you everything I use! (brand new versions of course).

GIVEAWAY (Now Closed)

  • Prize: one (1) 1.5″ OXO cookie scoop, two (2) Make’n Mold Peanut Butter Cup Mold Trays (12 cups/tray), t
  • wo (2) boxes of toothpicks & o
  • ne (1) Devil Spatula.

And the winner is…