Tags

,

Name: Monique Montes
Birthday: July 12
Business Name: Sweet Bakes by Monique
Location: Northridge, CA

Background:
I’ve been baking since I was about 11 years old. I love my family and friends. I enjoy traveling and eating. I’m a HUGE foodie. I enjoy photography, I love snapping pictures of this and that. I believe that if you truly love what you do- it shows!

When & how did you become a cake pop maker?
I saw Starbucks cake pops and tried them when they first started selling them; then I saw Bakerella’s book and was hooked.  I just knew that I had to teach myself to make them… and I’ve been making them ever since.  That was about 1 1/2 years ago.

Do you bake as your full-time job?
I bake as orders come in and like to experiment. I dedicate myself to learning new things and techniques. I believe there is always room to improve and that keeps me on my toes. I absolutely LOVE it. I believe I finally found my passion.

What inspires you in your baking; how do you come up with original ideas?
Other bakers and cake poppers inspire me.  They inspire me everyday to be as good as them if not better. My fans inspire me to be the best I can be and to always be prideful of my baked goods.

What are some of your favorite cake pops that you have made?

What advice do you have for other cake pop makers?
Take pride in your creations. If you come across a challenge, don’t give up, keep trying or try something different.  You will find what works for you. If you show that you value your cake pops, others will value them too.

Do you make anything else in addition to cake pops?
Yes, I make…Cupcakes, Cake Push-Ups, chocolate covered Oreos, Pie Pops, & French Macarons.

OK, some non-baking questions… 🙂

  • Favorite TV show or movie:  Friends, The Walking Dead, King of Queens
  • Favorite book: Of Mice and Men, The Great Gatsby
  • Favorite candy: Mars bars, Twix, Sweet Tarts
  • Favorite celebrity: Johnny Depp  **sigh**
  • If you could have any super power, what would it be, and why? I would say to HEAL.  There is too much pain and suffering in the world, I would love to take that all away.

How can people find you? 

Website: www.sweetbakesbymonique.weebly.com
Facebook: Sweet Bakes by Monique

What area do you serve/sell to? Northridge, CA local
Do you ship your cake pops? Yes!  I ship to U.S. residents.
What’s the best way for people to order from you? Facebook order form and Website order form.

Would you like to be featured on Meet Me Monday?  Email kcbakes@hotmail.com with “Meet Me Monday” in the subject.

