Tags

, ,

Today’s muse is a little something I whipped up myself, tie-dye cupcakes!  A lot of people loved these when I posted them on Twitter (@KCbakes), so I thought I’d make a tutorial.

Tie-Dye Cupcakes

  • 1 box of vanilla cake mix (& ingredients it calls for)
  • Food dye (I used Wilton’s gel colors)
  • # small bowls for the amount of colors you’ll have (I made 8 colors)
  • One spoon for each small bowl
  • Prepare the cake mix as instructed on the box.
  • Divide the batter equally between the small bowls.
  • Use a toothpick and put a small amount of the gel color into the batter.  Note: Gel food dye is very concentrated, so start off light… a little bit goes a long way.  Remember, you can always add more coloring, but you can’t subtract it.
  • Tip: if using colored bowls like we did, don’t use the same color bowl for the same color dye (i.e. yellow bowl for yellow batter); its very tough to tell if you’ve mixed the batter thoroughly, or if the batter is reflecting the color of the bowl.
  • After you’ve mixed all of your colors… fill up those cupcake pans!  A scoop of blue, a scoop of pink… there’s no rhyme or reason to it.  In fact, the more random your color pattern, the better!  Be sure to only fill the cupcake liners 2/3 of the way full to avoid them spilling over.
  • Bake cupcakes according to directions on the cake mix.
  • Since there’s so many colors in the batter already, pair your cupcakes with a beautiful white frosting.

Great project to get the kids involved – they had so much fun!

A rainbow of cake batter!

Fresh out of the oven – I was surprised the colors stayed so bright!

Sprinkle decoration courtesy of the kiddos.

My cupcake, sans wrapper. Yes, those are Christmas Tree sprinkles, haha.

The middle – look at those layers of color!

Different color patterns.

We used tiger-print cupcakes, which made them even cooler.

Icing mustaches for the hard-working sous chefs 🙂

 

These cupcakes were so fun to make… I can’t wait until I have a reason to bake them again!