Tags

, ,

Today is National Ice Cream Day! Did you know such an amazing holiday even existed? I only discovered it a few weeks ago, and it will now be on my calendar every year in the future.

To celebrate this wonderful day, a group of us bloggers decided to make ice cream inspired cake pops – “cake and ice cream” go together like peas & carrots, but taste WAY better! Be sure to read all the way to the end of this post to see their creations as well.

I saw ice cream sandwich cookie wafers at my local Amish Market recently, and thought they would make a fun cake pop idea. I bought them in chocolate and vanilla, but after getting home, it just wasn’t working out how I planned.

I got to thinking… what is my all-time favorite ice cream treat? Good Humor Strawberry Shortcake Bars! Oh my gosh, I absolutely love them, the perfect summer treat. So, ladies and gents, I give you… *drum roll* Strawberry Shortcake Cake Pops!

Strawberry Shortcake Cake Pops

To get started, we need to prepare the crunchy coating. For the pink, I crushed heart sprinkles, and for the cream color, I used the vanilla cookie wafers (they came in handy after all!).

IMG_0863

Place the items in separate Ziploc bags and smash away. The pieces should be pretty small, but don’t smash them so much that it turns into powder. Combine the crumbs in equal parts into a 3rd dish.

IMG_0864

As you can see, the pieces vary in size. To get a more uniform consistency, I sifted my mixture through a colander.

IMG_0874

Now for the cake pops. Prepare your cake pop mixture as normal; if you need tips on cake pop basics, click here. Instead of rolling them into balls, form them into these tombstone-like shapes.

I didn’t think this far ahead… but to make authentic Strawberry Shortcake Cake Pops, use strawberry cake and frosting for the pops!

IMG_0876

Dip each popsicle stick in melted chocolate, then insert into the bottom of the cake pop. Chill these in the refrigerator for about 10 minutes.

Since its warm weather, only bring a few pops out at a time. If they get too warm, they’ll soften up and fall off the stick when dipped.

IMG_0877

Immediately after dipping each pop, coat with the crunchy mixture.

IMG_0881

Here’s where I ran into a bit of a snag. See the sides of the cake pop – the fine powder part of the mixture stuck to the melted chocolate first, and my bigger pieces weren’t sticking. It just wasn’t looking like the real thing.

Then I remembered I had a fine wire sieve! I poured my sprinkle mixture through the sieve, and all of the fine powder fell into the bowl, leaving me just the crunchies.

IMG_0885

Ta da – much better!

IMG_0886

As you saw, the inside is pure cake pop. If you want to make your pops with the bite taken out (as shown in the first picture of this post), check out how I did it in my Orange Creamsicle Cake Pop Post.

orange-creamsicle-cake-pop-bite-title

Its the same technique – just be careful not to get the crunchies in the “bite area”. Use pink melted chocolate for that inner strawberry look… it really fakes people out!

Strawberry Shortcake Pops

Think you can handle MORE ice cream? Check out these awesome cake pop ideas from my fellow bloggers. July is National Ice Cream Month, so you have plenty of time to celebrate with these super fun ideas!

Ice Cream Cake Pops Group Post - Final