Tags

, ,

Greetings everyone!

I hope your new years are off to a fantastic start! I had an incredibly busy holiday break… if you follow me on Instagram, you know that I bought my first house! It’s been very exciting, and very hectic.

I’m sure it comes as no surprise that my favorite room in the house is… the kitchen!

kitchen

When meeting new neighbors, one question that tends to come up is, “so, what do you do?” If I was going to say that I like to bake, I couldn’t do that empty handed… so to “break-in” the new kitchen, I made a batch of cake pops to bring with me for introductions.

A few days after we moved, I flew down to Miami with my friend for a little girls getaway weekend. The trip had been planned for a few months. We were originally supposed to settle in November, but you know, delays are inevitable.

Now, we live in cold, grey, snowy New Jersey. The day we flew out, it was 19 degrees. This view from our hotel was SUCH a welcomed, and well-needed sight.

Miami Beach

One of the first things I was looking forward to doing in Miami is visiting Sweet Life Cake and Candy Supply!

Sweet Life Cake and Candy Supply

I have known these lovely, super-sweet ladies for quite some time through the phone and social media. Melanie (L) and Natasha (R) have been big supporters of my KC Bakes Meet-Ups – it was so much fun to see them in person!

Sweet Life Cake and Candy Supply

While I was there, I did some shopping around their store – they have such a great selection of colors! I’ve been really into teal lately, so I stocked up on goodies in various shades of blue.

Sweet Life Cake and Candy Supply

Look at this Caribbean Blue disco dust! The photo doesn’t do it any justice… it shimmers so beautifully in person, just like the blue waters of the Caribbean.

Sweet Life Cake and Candy Supply Disco Dust

So! Back to cake pops for the neighbors. Not knowing their favorite flavors yet, I chose to go with a simple French vanilla cake. (Tips for Super Smooth Cake Pops)

cake balls

Wanting to use some of my new supplies, I pulled out the Teal Decorettes and Teal Sanding Sugar. The blue candy melts I used for these pops are from Bakerella’s line for Make’n Mold.

Blue Cake Pops

It was fun to mix & match textures, but have them still be all the same color! (shop cake pop stands at www.KCBakes.com)

To deliver my pops, I pulled out my favorite cake pop boxes from BRP Box Shop. They also come in white, but I love how the light brown really brought out the vibrant blue color of the cake pops!

IMG_2550

Sweet Life Cake & Candy Supply have an awesome online store – but – it’s supposed to snow 3-6″ here on Saturday… I think I may just “need” to go shop in person! 🙂 *I wish!*

