Tags

, , ,

LucyName: Lucy Nash
Birthday: January 5th
Business Name: The LucyLuPop Bakery
Location: Orange County – Southern California

Background:
I’m originally from London, England, and a few moves around, I have found myself in Orange County CA. When I graduated from University, my hubby and I moved to Paris, France for work and that’s where I discovered my love of baking. Whilst we were there, it was purely a hobby; when we moved to CA in 2010, I decided to get turn the hobby into a blog and a business.

When & how did you become a cake pop maker?
It was all a little by accident.  I’d been making cupcakes for a little while, and while cruising Amazon for a birthday gift idea, I found ‘CakePops’ by Bakerella.  I ordered the book on a whim.  A few weeks later in early 2011, the animal shelter I volunteered at was having a bake sale, and I thought it would be super cute to make puppy and kitten cake pops.  They were an interesting one to start with, but from there my love of them started!

Do you bake as your full-time job?
I wish! Actually, that is not true, as much as I love baking, I love my full time job too.  I have always had a passion for helping animals, and so full-time, I work as a Veterinary Assistant for a small Animal Clinic. It can be long tough days, and some days are harder than others, but its very rewarding.

What inspires you in your baking; how do you come up with original ideas?
A lot of my original ideas come from my friends, family or clients.  They normally start with, “Wouldn’t it be cool to have (xxxx) as cake pops?”

What are some of your favorite cake pops that you have made?

What advice do you have for other cake pop makers?
Do it because you enjoy doing it – not to make money or to ‘get famous’. I love what I do, or I wouldn’t be doing it, and I think you can really tell when people are making cakes/cake pops/cupcakes simply for the financial benefits.

Do you make anything else in addition to cake pops?
Yes! I also make Cakes, Cupcakes, Cookies and Candies.  I also just started making Macrons too – I miss them so much from my days back in France!

OK, some non-baking questions… 

  • Favorite TV show or movie: I was a HUGE ‘Friends’ fan when I was younger, and still love it! Which means I also love ‘How I Met Your Mother’?
  • Favorite book: Tina Feys – ‘BossyPants’ I just finished it recently and I love her even more than I did before.
  • Favorite candy: Mint Aero Bars – or anything from the UK really.
  • If you could have any super power, what would it be, and why? To pause time – for no other reason than I could sneak a nap in every now and then!

How can people find you?

Website: www.thelbakery.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/theLbakery
Twitter: LucyLuPop
Pinterest: lucylupop
Instagram: LucyLuPop

What area do you serve/sell to?  Orange County – SoCal
Do you ship your cake pops?  Not yet, but its definitely something I’m researching for the future!
What’s the best way for people to order from you? Through the contact pages on my Website (http://www.thelbakery.com/contact-us/) or by directly emailing me at lucy@thelbakery.com

