Tags

, , ,

Name: Jessica Sibley Dionne
Birthday: November 20th
Business Name: Sugar & Spiked, Inc
Location: Deerfield Beach, FL

When & how did you become a cake pop maker?
Randomly! I always loved baking but never thought to do it as a profession.  I was a Spa Director and was asked to make some cupcakes for a spa event.  I decided to spike them and the receptionist suggested I do it for a living and call the company Sugar & Spiked. 

She also suggested that I check out a site called Bakerella, because she “makes these super cool things called cake pops”.  I didn’t really pursue it immediately because I already had a job.  A short time later, that same receptionist (and friend) unexpectedly passed away and it kind of changed the way I looked at life.  I decided the best way to live my life and make her proud was to do something I loved and share them with everyone.  Even though my pops aren’t “spiked” (yet, lol) I wanted to keep the name in her honor.  

Do you bake as your full-time job?
No. I’m actually a full time project manager for the company that builds Sephora and a part time makeup artist at my local Sephora.  I also help a local jewelry designer named LBP Collection with their marketing.

What inspires you in your baking; how do you come up with original ideas?
I feel like my clients inspire me a lot with their requests and images they send and of course all of the amazing cake pop girls I follow on Instagram and Facebook inspire me too.  There is some crazy beautiful talent out there and I’m so honored to be in their company, even though I don’t always feel worthy.

What are some of your favorite cake pops that you have made?

What advice do you have for other cake pop makers?
My best advice is to have fun with it…the design options are endless and ask questions!!  Most poppers, myself included, are totally willing to help you with any questions or issues.  That’s one thing I love about this world, everyone is so supportive and sweet.  We build each other up!  Hopefully, one day we can have a cake pop convention and all meet in person!  

Do you make anything else in addition to cake pops?
Cupcakes, chocolate covered oreos, chocolate covered pretzels and I’ve dabbled in cakes.  I’d like to start learning more about cakes and cookies soon!

Some non-baking questions… 🙂

  • Favorite TV show or movie: currently…The Following and Girls on HBO
  • Favorite book: of recent…50 Shades of Grey and Hunger Games
  • Favorite non-baking hobby: Spending time with family and friends
  • Favorite candy: Starbursts
  • Favorite celebrity: Emily Blunt, Channing Tatum
  • If you could have any super power, what would it be, and why?  To be in more than one place at the same time. 

How can people find you?

Website: www.SugarandSpiked.net…www.SugarandSpiked.com is coming soon
Facebook: www.Facebook.com/sugarandspikedinc
Twitter: www.twitter.com/sugarandspiked
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/sugarandspiked
Instagram: www.instagram.com/sugarandspiked
Email: info@sugarandspiked.net

What area do you serve/sell to?  Instagram, Facebook and word of mouth right now.
Do you ship your cake pops?  Yes, from October-April US only
What’s the best way for people to order from you?  Email

Would you like to be featured on Meet Me Monday?  Email kcbakes@hotmail.com with “Meet Me Monday” in the subject.

