Tags

, , , ,

MoniqueName: Monique Desharnais
Birthday:  February 15th – Aquarius Baby!
Business Name: Stix & Stonz Cake Pops
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Background:  Norwegian, Welsh & Scottish

When & how did you become a cake pop maker?
I started at the very beginning of 2011. I was introduced to cake pops by a co-worker and then my son asked me to make some for his birthday and that was it!  Everyone loved them so much and I loved how happy they made people so I just set my mind and body to it and voila!  Two months later in April, Stix & Stonz was officially launched!

Do you bake as your full-time job?
Not yet, but almost!  I have a full time career as a Contract Administrator, but I work every day from 4pm to 10pm and every weekend doing cake pops – so it is practically a second full time job.  It’s a labor of love though and I hope to soon be making the move to devote all my time to baking and to take the company to the next level!

What inspires you in your baking; how do you come up with original ideas?
My main inspiration is my customers.  I love hearing their plans and talking with them to come up with some great ideas. I’m the Queen of details…little things that most folks wouldn’t even notice…I love that stuff!   I also look to other cake poppers as there is such amazing talent out there sometimes I am just in awe!

What are some of your favorite cake pops that you have made?

What advice do you have for other cake pop makers?
You can do it!  Just try, you have talents you don’t even know of yet!  Have faith in yourself it will turn out beautiful!

Do you make anything else in addition to cake pops?
Yes!  I make chocolate covered Oreos and pretzels and Gourmet flavored dipped Marshmallows.

OK, some non-baking questions… 🙂

  • Favorite TV show or movie:  The Walking Dead and Scandal
  • Favorite book: In Cold Blood by Truman Capote
  • Favorite candy: M&M Pretzels… soooooo addictive!
  • Favorite celebrity: T.I.
  • If you could have any super power, what would it be, and why?   It’s a tie!  I would like to be able to read minds and to be able to snap my fingers and instantly travel anywhere I want.

How can people find you?

Website:   www.stixandstonz.co
Facebook: Stix & Stonz Cake Pops
Email:   info@stixandstonz.co

What area do you serve/sell to?  Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Do you ship your cake pops?  Not at this time
What’s the best way for people to order from you?  Call me or email me…I can’t wait to hear from you!

Would you like to be featured on Meet Me Monday?  Email kcbakes@hotmail.com with “Meet Me Monday” in the subject.

