Tags

, , ,

Name: Melinda O.
Birthday: July 20
Business Name: i Pop Cakes
Location: Brockton, MA

Background:
I grew up in Brockton, MA, and worked with kids before I had my own. I’m a fan of all things orange. I enjoy the Fall; seeing the leaves change color is the best time of year. I’m obsessed with taking pictures of my kids and all things around me. And I’m a thrill seeker. 

When & how did you become a cake pop maker?
I first saw cake pops at Starbucks in 2011. My daughter was eating one and I had no idea what it was so I went home and did some research. I found, then bought, Bakerella’s book Cake Pops and I was intrigued. Made my first cake pops for my nephew’s birthday party and they became a huge hit. That’s how it all began.

Do you bake as your full-time job?
I’m a mom by day and baker by night. But sometimes baking becomes a full time job, especially during the holidays. I truly enjoy it. It’s my “therapy”.

What inspires you in your baking; how do you come up with original ideas?
I became friends with a lot of amazing and talented bakers (poppers) on FB and they inspire and encourage me in almost all my projects. They are always there for constructive criticism and I value that.

What are some of your favorite cake pops that you have made?

What advice do you have for other cake pop makers?
If you love what you do, NEVER give up. Experiment, research, ask for help, but never quit. Always remember, we were all in the same boat at some point; so when in doubt, ask for help. There’s always someone willing to share some pointers.

Do you make anything else in addition to cake pops?
I started making cakes and cupcakes last year. I’m still learning.

OK, some non-baking questions… 🙂

  • Favorite TV show or movie: Oh I have more than 1!! CSI, The Vampire Diaries, Scandal is a new favorite. And I LOVE all Halloween movies.
  • Favorite book: All mystery. I’ll read anything by Dean Koontz and Mary Higgins Clark.
  • Favorite candy: KitKat
  • Favorite celebrity: I love Gene Simmons!! 😉
  • If you could have any super power, what would it be, and why? To go back in time. I’d love to be able to see my dad whenever I miss him (which is daily)…

How can people find you?

Website: iPopCakes.com
Facebook:
www.facebook.com/ipopcakes
Twitter: @ipopcakes
Pinterest: i Pop Cakes
Instagram: I Pop Cakes

What area do you serve/sell to? South of Boston
Do you ship your cake pops?  Only during the winter
What’s the best way for people to order from you? ipopcakes@gmail.com

Would you like to be featured on Meet Me Monday?  Email kcbakes@hotmail.com with “Meet Me Monday” in the subject.

