Tags

,

Name: Lana Kean
Birthday:  February 12th
Business Name: Luscious Lana’s Sweet Treats
Location: Orange, CT

Background: Registered Nurse/Healthcare

When & how did you become a cake pop maker?
October 2011.  My husband owns a small convenience store & someone (small business owner) approached him to sell their cupcakes in his store.  My husband told me that my cupcakes taste & look much better than his and that I should try starting up a side business.  I told him I thought the cupcake novelty has worn off and it’s too competitive a market now…especially seeing as how there is a Sprinkles (cupcake chain store) located down the street!  I gave it some thought and said…what about brownie pops?!  I had made some for my daughter’s 1st birthday party and my guests went crazy over them.  I started off with brownie pops and not too much happened.  One day a woman asked my husband who made the brownie pops and if they made cake pops.  She phoned me and asked me to do an order of 40+ tennis ball cake pops for a charity event.  What a disaster!  I was in tears in my kitchen & nearly Googled a cake-pop maker to order her promised 40+ tennis ball cake pops.  My husband gave me an amazing pep talk and I persevered!  I kept at them until I completed her order.  It’s been over a year now and I would NOW consider tennis ball cake pops to be my ‘basic cake pops’ at this point, LOL!

Do you bake as your full-time job?
No.  I do it on the side as a creative outlet.  I do get busy around the holidays and springtime especially with birthdays & Easter.

What inspires you in your baking; how do you come up with original ideas?
I have to give credit to my fellow bakers & people I follow on FB/Pinterest.  Bakerella, KC Bakes, Heavenly Cake Pops, CandiQuik, My Little Cupcake…these are the people that I routinely follow.  I do also love looking at small bakers like myself.  There is a woman by the name of Dawn Inzitari that stands out in my head… her work is mind-blowing! Just gorgeous.  I like to look at what others do and I spin it with my own twist.  My favorite orders are challenge orders however.  When a customer asks for something specific that I have never done and am unfamiliar with and don’t see much out there from other bakers.  My Angry Birds display is probably my most inventive, creative work yet.  I had NO IDEA what/who Angry Birds even were.  I had to Google a picture of the cartoon characters and then I figured it out in my head at night with candy pieces etc.

What are some of your favorite cake pops that you have made?

What advice do you have for other cake pop makers?
If at first
 you don’t succeed, try…try again.  I started a journal for the first 6-8 months of cake pop making.  I would refer to it in the beginning stages.  It truly is an art form and there is definitely a science to baking the cakes, molding the cakes, setting cakes at perfect temp…chocolate melting…chocolate brands…dyes…dipping…crackage…the list goes on.  Now I have my entire process down so routinely it’s second nature.  DON’T give up! Also, ‘Friend’ other cake pop makers or follow some of the people I named above for support and question/answers.

Do you make anything else in addition to cake pops?
I make Brownie Pops, Rice Krispy treat Pops, chocolate covered pretzels, cookie pops, s’mores on a stick…my business cards state: “Specializing in Cake Pops, Brownie Pops & other Sweet Treats on a stick”.  I do cakes & cupcakes for my daughter’s birthdays & family parties only.

OK, some non-baking questions… 🙂

  • Favorite TV show or movie:  Parenthood (TV Show) / Bronx Tale (Movie)
  • Favorite book: The Fifty Shades SERIES, duuuuhhh!! LOL
  • Favorite candy: Peppermint Patties (or ANY chocolate)
  • Favorite celebrity: Harry Connick, Jr. (because I just met him last week!!!)
  • If you could have any super power, what would it be, and why? To FLY!  Who wouldn’t want to fly!?  My brother & I have always wanted to be able to fly since we were kids.  That would be AWESOME!  Just like Superman :0)

How can people find you?

Facebook: Luscious Lana’s Sweet Treats

What area do you serve/sell to?  Serving CT only at this time
Do you ship your cake pops?  No
What’s the best way for people to order from you? Contact me via FB or call 203.623.4965

Would you like to be featured on Meet Me Monday?  Email kcbakes@hotmail.com with “Meet Me Monday” in the subject.

