Tags

, , , ,

When it comes to decorating cake pops (or any dessert for that matter), there are always certain shapes that are tricky to make… bows, crowns, even those little baby feet for baby shower pops.

Stress no more… Lollicakes by Ella has these super cool silicone molds!

To see this tutorial/review in 6 seconds… check out my Vine video!Β For all the juicy details, keep reading below πŸ™‚

I started out with the bow set, which was shipped really quickly and had Ella’s cute logo sticker on the envelope (I just love personal touches like that).

I found it easiest to put the melted chocolate into a Ziploc bag and pipe it into the smaller shapes… this way you can control where the chocolate is going.Β I accidentally went a tad heavy on the candy dye… these were even brighter in person!

With any mold, you want to make sure you don’t have too much overflow, otherwise your shape won’t be as crisp and distinctive… my first few tries were a little wonky, but don’t worry, you’ll get the hang of it – practice makes perfect.

3

My absolute FAVORITE thing about these molds… their flexibility! Because they are made from silicone, you can practically bend them in half, and they won’t break – this makes it so much easier to remove your shapes without them cracking.

Lollicake by Ella’s molds are so simple to use… pipe in the melted chocolate, place the mold in the fridge or freezer for 2-3 minutes, and boom – it pops right out.

Then I remembered I had some magenta disco dust… I sprinkled it into the mold, poured in the chocolate, let it set… and look, oooooh!

If you notice above, there are also some teeny button shapes in the bow mold as well. At first, I couldn’t think of any reason I’d need to make buttons… but as most bakers know, you don’t always have to use items for theirΒ intendedΒ purpose (remember how I turned heart molds into Love Bug wings?)

So hmm, buttons… then I saw my pink chocolate and a lightbulb went off…

6

Piggy noses! There’s a reason I’m a baker and not a sketch artist, haha.

Looking at Lollicake by Ella’s gallery of molds, my brain is exploding with new ideas… and she keeps coming up with new designs too, gah!

And the winner is…

 

