Tags

, , ,

Last week, I flew down to Sarasota to visit some friends for the weekend… it was 18 degrees in my town, and they were calling for a snow storm, so the timing was perfect!

This is my favorite pic I took while I was down there, because it totally encapsulates my whole trip… sunny & relaxing. (Marina Jack, Sarasota)

My friends had asked what I wanted to do while I was there, and I had one big priority on my list… visit The Lollicake Queen! I’d been following them on social media for some time now, and I just had to see a whole store devoted to cake pops, or lollicakes 🙂

When we arrived, we were greeted by two beautiful ladies, Amy & Erin – the sisters behind The Lollicake Queen.

They were so nice & welcoming, making us all feel right at home. And when I shared I was Kim from KC Bakes, they already knew about my cake pop stands (what a cool moment!). They were so gracious letting me snap pics on my phone and even took some time to give us a behind-the-scenes tour!

Right off the bat, I was blown away by the variety of flavors they offer. I ordered 12 different flavors (1 of each), and later that night, my friends and I had a tasting party.

Hands down, my favorite was the Snickerdoodle! I was so bummed that I had only bought one, and even more bummed when I realized they were closed on Sundays and I couldn’t go back for more before I left. (I will definitely be ordering some from their website!). My friends, however, can’t stop talking about the chai lollicake and are planning another visit.

photo 3

But back to the store… it was so impressive! Each lollicake was decorated with their signature drizzle, its color themed with the flavors which were displayed on cute little crown cards that match their logo.

Each lollicake has a flavor tag, and its tied on with a thin satin ribbon whose color is themed to the flavor as well. Let me tell you – their ribbon station made my jaw fall open… bins of every color ribbon you can think of, all pre-cut to the perfect length! We got to meet their official ribbon-tier, their mom, such a sweetie.

I could go on and on, but I’ll let Erin & Amy tell you more in their own words…

Meet Me Monday: The Lollicake Queen

Name: Erin Zolner & Amy Nichols (sisters)
Birthday: 5/4 & 3/11
Business Name: The Lollicake Queen
Location: Sarasota, FL

Background:
Erin began her professional career as a social worker, earned her Master’s in Business Administration from the University of Florida and was an investment advisor. Amy was a Landscape Architect.

When & how did you become a cake pop maker?
We made our first lollicakes for Erin’s daughter’s pre-school class.

Do you bake as your full-time job?
Well, baking isn’t our full-time job per se… but yes, running the bakery and growing the business is a more than full time job :o) We’re living the dream!

What inspires you in your baking; how do you come up with original ideas?
We look to food trends outside of the pastry world, as well as always incorporating our own favorite things.

What are some of your favorite cake pops that you have made?

What advice do you have for other cake pop makers?
If baking is your business, make your business legitimate. Register with your local Department of Business and Professional Regulation. If you intend to make a living from baking, follow the rules. Many states now have cottage food laws that allow home baking for retail sales, but make sure you’re familiar with rules regarding online sales and income limits.

Do you make anything else in addition to cake pops?
We’re about to open Perq Coffee Bar in the space adjacent to the bakery – so we’ve been testing new recipes, ideas, and concepts. We love French macarons, so those will definitely be one of our additions. We’re also trying to do more vegan & no-gluten options. We always get requests for cake balls (we like to call them cake truffles) so I think we’ll see a lot more of that.

OK, some non-baking questions… 🙂

  • Favorite TV show or movie: TV? Who has time ;o) Slightly obsessed with Downton Abbey though.
  • Favorite book: Erin – The Razor’s Edge  Amy – A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius
  • Favorite candy: Erin – really, really good chocolate   Amy – Chocolate Reisen
  • Favorite celebrity: Erin – Ryan Gosling (because he looks like her husband Keith)  Amy – James Franco
  • If you could have any super power, what would it be, and why? We have all the super powers we need ;o)

How can people find you? 

Website: www.thelollicakequeen.com
Facebook: www.facebook.com/thelollicakequeen
Twitter: @lollicakequeen
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/lollicakequeen
Instagram: @thelollicakequeen 

What area do you serve/sell to? Nationwide!
Do you ship your cake pops? YES!
What’s the best way for people to order from you? Online

Would you like to be featured on Meet Me Monday?  Email kcbakes@hotmail.com with “Meet Me Monday” in the subject.

