Tags

,

Name: Modesty Vidal
Birthday: November 1st
Business Name: MoCakes
Location: Austin, Texas

Background:
I grew up in Dallas and moved to Austin with my best friend in 2005. I met my husband and now we have two beautiful kids who I have the privilege of staying home with. I’ve always loved baking but mainly because I love sweets!

When & how did you become a cake pop maker?
In October of 2011 I saw some of Bakerella’s Halloween cake pops in a Family Fun magazine. I thought I would try it out for my daughter’s birthday and they were so popular I started receiving orders!  I have been so busy ever since then!

Do you bake as your full-time job?
My full time job is raising our kids and making sure they are well mannered, respectful, and happy. My part time job is cake pops, although during the busy months, it definitely goes from part time to full time and into overtime. I love being able to be creative and contribute financially to my family while also being able to be at home instead of an office.

What inspires you in your baking; how do you come up with original ideas?
I am inspired by so many things! My customers always inspire me. I love hearing their ideas and turning them into cake pop form. I also love being able to jump online or instagram and see all these other great cake poppers and their awesome ideas. After awhile you start looking at all kinds of things and thinking “how can I make that a cake pop?”

What are some of your favorite cake pops that you have made?

What advice do you have for other cake pop makers?  
The best advice is to just have patience. Chocolate is temperamental! You really have to have a lot of trial and error before you figure out what works best for you.  I have also received some great advice from fellow cake poppers on the web. There are a lot of resources and a lot of really talented people out there who are willing to help.

Do you make anything else in addition to cake pops?
I make cupcakes upon request but my main focus is customized cake pops.

OK, some non-baking questions…

  • Favorite TV show or movie:  Real Housewives of any city. Such drama!!
  • Favorite book: Any psychology book!!
  • Favorite candy: At the moment, Butterfinger. But it changes on the daily.
  • Favorite celebrity:  Chelsea Peretti, Jonathan Laroquette and Seth Romatelli. I don’t know if they are celebrities, but they are my favorite comedians!
  • If you could have any super power, what would it be, and why?  My super power would be to wake up and be completely ready, hair done, makeup done, clothes picked out for me. Imagine how much time that would save!!

How can people find you?

Website: www.mocakesaustin.com
Facebook: www.facebook.com/mocakesaustin
Pinterest: @modestyv
Instagram: @mocakes
Email: modestyscakes@gmail.com

What area do you serve/sell to?  Austin,TX and surrounding areas
Do you ship your cake pops?  Not at the moment, but it’s in the works!
What’s the best way for people to order from you? Email or Facebook

Would you like to be featured on Meet Me Monday?  Email kcbakes@hotmail.com with “Meet Me Monday” in the subject.

