Tags

,

Name: Marissa Pantoja
Birthday: April 21st
Business Name: MeCupcake
Location: San Antonio, TX

Background:
I’m from Chihuahua, Mexico. Studied and graduated from UTSA with a Bachelor in Architecture. I’m married with a beautiful 2 year old son.

When & how did you become a cake pop maker?
About 2 years ago, I was a stay home mom and I always wanted to try to do SWEETS. I started my research and I found these sweet little BITES on Bakerella. I thought they look awesome and I started doing them just for fun. A few tries later, a good friend of mine told me that I should start my own business, since they were a hit in every reunion that I was taking them. My husband and I thought it was a good idea and we created MeCupcake.

Do you bake as your full-time job?
I graduated from architecture in 2010, and I work at an Architectural Firm full time. I use my free time to do my cake pops + cupcakes.  I really enjoy it! But sometimes is difficult to find time for everything!

What inspires you in your baking; how do you come up with original ideas?
I find my inspiration everywhere: Bakerella, other cake pops sites, toys, food, colors, textures and the most important from my customers! They challenge my creativity at its most extent. I really try to be original and give my own TWIST to whatever I find on the web.

What are some of your favorite cake pops that you have made?
Every design challenges me in different ways. I enjoy making every one of them but I have to say that I love to do Christmas designs!

What advice do you have for other cake pop makers?
Keep trying, it is wonderful to have the capacity and the media to make someone SMILE!. Be patient and enjoy the ride. Don’t be discouraged if the first try doesn’t work, it works in its own unique way. Always do what you Love!!

Do you make anything else in addition to cake pops?
I mostly do cupcakes and I’m beginning to do some dessert tables … wish me luck!

OK, some non-baking questions… 🙂

  • Favorite TV show or movie: The Walking Dead, Cupcake Wars, My Best Friend’s Wedding.
  • Favorite book: Love the author Gabriel Garcia Marquez
  • Favorite candy: Mexican hot candy
  • Favorite celebrity: Ellen
  • If you could have any super power, what would it be, and why? Slow time, so my son does not grow so FAST!

How can people find you?

Facebook: MECUPCAKE
Instagram: mpantoja
Email: mecupcake.info@gmail.com

What area do you serve/sell to? mostly Texas
Do you ship your cake pops? Yes, but only from October through  March
What’s the best way for people to order from you? Facebook or email

Would you like to be featured on Meet Me Monday?  Email kcbakes@hotmail.com with “Meet Me Monday” in the subject.

