Tags

, ,

Name: Nina G.
Birthday: July 12th
Business Name: niner bakes; my business in Germany is called “Cupcake City”.
Location: Hanover, Germany

Background:
I am a media designer and have been creative all my life. From photography to graffiti, I usually have been active in all kinds of creative things. That’s why I love to give my cake pops extra details, so I am happy at the end of the day.

 

When & how did you become a cake pop maker?
I began making cake pops in 2010 and was actually one of the first people who made them in Germany. I started blogging about my treats in English since no Germans knew about cake pops. The hype just started in 2012, so now my blog is accessible in English and German because Europeans are now all over cake pops (and cupcakes).

Do you bake as your full-time job?
I do not bake full-time. I still have my media design job but I do start working on cake pops when I get home. Well, basically I have two full-time jobs and I have to think about how to handle it in the future because my cake pop business grows and grows. (I have to refuse orders, so that means, I need more time or an employee to help out, haha)

What inspires you in your baking; how do you come up with original ideas?
Just like a cookie designer gets inspired, so do I: by anything. When I look at things I always try to imagine: Could this be a cake pop? Textures, patterns, movies, toys etc. inspire me to make unique cake pops. Even though there is almost everything out there already (cake pops), whenever I make them I try to be unique in the details. Standing out is important and to be ambitious.

What are some of your favorite cake pops that you have made?

What advice do you have for other cake pop makers?
Some people ask me why my cake pops look so “perfect” (for example the snowmen etc.) – I usually do not see the “perfectness” though, I am so surprised when they ask me. But my answer is usually: Lots of practice; the more you make cake pops, the better you get. Even if if it’s your first time, try to make a Christmas tree pop for example. When you are experienced enough it gets easier to try out new things, so do not give up – the only thing you need is passion and love for what you do.

Sometimes I sit in my kitchen for hours (luckily I have a TV there to entertain me, haha), until 2 or 3am in the morning talking to myself: Why are you doing this, girl, you should be asleep!! But when the pops are done, and daylight hits, and I get to take beautiful photos of my treats, I know why I do this: because I love it. It would not be possible to do it all the time if the love was missing.

Of course people like looking at pops and try to make them because they want to be “a part of the hype” but I see those come and go to be honest. It is a lot of work and people tend to forget it I think, IT IS WORK lol. Especially when you sell them. Anyway cake pop makers, keep it up, if you love what you do, nothing can stop you!!

Do you make anything else in addition to cake pops?
Yes I bake cupcakes, cakes and cookies as well. But cake pops are my specialty.

OK, some non-baking questions… 🙂

  • Favorite TV show or movie: My favourite childhood movie: Eleven Cats  (1987), current fav movies: The Intouchables & The Blind Side
  • Favorite book: I am all about Joyce Meyer books.
  • Favorite candy: Public Displays of Confection (www.pd.net)
  • Favorite celebrity: Jennifer Aniston, I love her! Oh and Sandra Bullock, she is half German and I love her humor!
  • If you could have any super power, what would it be, and why? Going back to my childhood years, I so miss it because it was the best time in my life.

How can people find you?

Website: www.ninerbakes.com
Facebook:  www.facebook.com/ninerbakescom
Twitter: www.twitter.com/itsniner
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ninerbakes
Instagram: www.instagram.com/ninerbakes
Flickr: flickr.com/photos/wechooseorganic/

What area do you serve/sell to?  Germany, Austria, Switzerland
Do you ship your cake pops?  Yes absolutely!
What’s the best way for people to order from you? If they contact me via E-Mail (info@ninerbakes.com)

Would you like to be featured on Meet Me Monday?  Email kcbakes@hotmail.com with “Meet Me Monday” in the subject.

