Tags

Picture 18Name: Becky McGraw
Birthday: September 24
Business Name: Beckaboo’s Cakes
Location: Winchester, Virginia

Background:
Strangely enough, I had no artistic talent growing up. I was an athlete all through high school and college. I actually have a BS in Exercise Science (all in moderation, right?). My artistic side didn’t develop until I had my son. Guess those days of Play-Do paid off!

When & how did you become a cake pop maker?
My first try was Easter of 2009, and for some odd reason, I thought I’d try specialty Easter pops for my son’s preschool class. Fail. Said I’d never do it again 🙂 I don’t think I tried again until that October, and have been poppin’ away ever since!

Do you bake as your full-time job?
My cake business is my second full-time business as being a work-at-home mom/wife is my first. The business does present some work-life balance challenges, but it’s been a great 2nd income for us while doing something I love.

What inspires you in your baking; how do you come up with original ideas?
Most of my inspiration comes from the internet and the candy aisle! I’m thankful for my clients presenting with new challenges often. Most of my new designs are from client requests.

What are some of your favorite cake pops that you have made?

What advice do you have for other cake pop makers?
Have patience. Cake pops do get easier after several thousand! Watch YouTube videos, join groups with other cake pop makers – most are gracious to share tips. Don’t sell yourself short – I find many home bakers undercut themselves and do not put enough value in their product.

Do you make anything else in addition to cake pops?
Cakes, cupcakes, chocolate covered Oreos, pumpkin rolls, etc.

OK, some non-baking questions… 🙂

  • Favorite TV show or movie: will always be Friends – I watch reruns all the time.
  • Favorite book: love James Patterson, Janet Evanovich, Jodi Piccoult
  • Favorite candy: Chunky
  • Favorite celebrity: Bakerella and the Pioneer Woman
  • If you could have any super power, what would it be, and why? Sometimes, I wish I could keep my son young forever. I’m going to miss the cuddles, kisses, and playing Santa/Tooth Fairy as he gets older.

How can people find you?

Website: www.beckabooscakes.com
Facebook:  www.facebook.com/beckabooscakes
Twitter: @BeckaboosCakes

What area do you serve/sell to?  Mostly VA/WV/MD, but do ship nationwide – even have shipped to Afghanistan
Do you ship your cake pops?  Yes, usually from October-April
What’s the best way for people to order from you? Email or Facebook/Website

Would you like to be featured on Meet Me Monday?  Email kcbakes@hotmail.com with “Meet Me Monday” in the subject 🙂

 

