Tags

,

Name: Samantha Reagin
Business Name:  Evie & Mallow cake pop and party shoppe
Location:  Toronto, Ontario

Background:  I grew up in Haliburton, but moved to Toronto after graduating high school.  I now live in Mississauga with my 3 babies – Evan, 3 (who is the “Evie”), Molly, 2 (who is the “Mallow”) and Clay, 36 (who is the “half” to my other). I’ve dabbled in all things creative since I was young, my first passion being photography (before everyone cheated and went digital! Lol) I am 100% nocturnal. I’m most creative at 2am and get 3 or 4 hours sleep a night. I’m addicted to reality TV, nice smelly things (ie: candles, glade plug-ins etc), and cleaning products. I have a Dollar Store fetish and  I can’t stand people that cut their nails in public. The ONLY thing I drink is Diet Pepsi, I am a self-proclaimed trypophobic and reading as well as sunlight make me tired.

When & how did you become a cake pop maker?
Two years ago, for my daughter’s 1st birthday, I knew that I wanted it to be a “cupcake” theme.  I’d never made cupcakes before so I Googled “cupcakes” and came across Bakerella’s cupcake pops. I thought that they were the most adorable things I’d ever seen and HAD to have them at her party! They were a challenge to make (to say the least!) but were a massive hit and everyone loved them.  Soon enough people started requesting that I make them for their parties.

Do you bake as your full-time jobIf yes, how do you enjoy it?
Well, my full time job is a stay at home mom. Everything I do has to be done after my kids are in bed because they’re at the age where they want to “help” with everything and they can’t.  I love doing what I do. In an ideal world, it would be 2 years from now and both my kids would be in school and I would be able to do it during the day uninterrupted. Until then, I’ll have to work full time hours in the middle of the night!:)

What inspires you in your bakingHow do you come up with your original ideas?
There are tons of places to get inspiration from! The obvious ones that I pull from a lot are the shows that my kids watch, movies, tv shows etc. because they’re cake pops that people are most familiar with and most likely to request. I am also very, VERY inspired by my fans (a lot of which have become my friends), other cake poppers, cake designers, etc.  A lot of my original ideas come from just looking around!  It’s funny you know, once you’ve been doing this for long enough, you’ll start to look at EVERYTHING and think, “That would make a really cute cake pop!”, or “How could I make that into a cake pop?” and you’ll start to see things as “shapes” rather than objects.

What would you consider to be your cake pop specialty?
The request I get the most is for my princesses.  I’m not sure if it’s because people like them the most or if it’s because princesses are the most requested birthday theme by little girls!

What is your favorite thing about cake pops?
I love when people give me complete creative control over the design, as well as a good challenge.  A lot of the time, people are not aware what can be done with cake pops, so they’re not exactly sure what to ask for.  As long as someone has a theme in mind, I can work with it. I also adore the community that has evolved out of cake popping . It’s refreshing to see a lot of people coming together, giving each other advice, inspiring one another, promoting each other etc.  It’s a great area to be working in and I know I have support when I need it.

What was your reaction to finding out that you were one of the Top 5 most-nominated cake pop makers?
SHOCKED! Seriously! There are soooo many amazing cake pop makers out there that I look up to and admire I thought for sure they would be nominated above me. It means a lot that people took the time to nominate me and that people are enjoying what I do.

Do you have any baking goals for 2012?
Well this is a start! I would love to see my pops styled in a party. My biggest goal is to be featured in a magazine or newspaper.

What advice do you have for new cake pop makers?
Have patience. The first time I made them, it was a massive fail! I had to do it 3 different times to get the right consistency. Just don’t get discouraged. Think outside the box and try to be one of a kind. Make something that will set you apart from the rest.

What are some of your favorite cake pops that you have made?

Where can you find Evie & Mallow?

Website: www.evieandmallow.com
Facebook: Evie & Mallow
Twitter: @evieandmallow
Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/evieandmallow/
What area do you serve/sell to? Mississauga, Toronto, GTA
Do you ship your cake pops? Yes
What’s the best way for people to order from you? Through the website or email at evieandmallow@yahoo.com

