Tags

,

Name: Melanie Pomerico
Business Name: Lil’ Cutie Pops, LLC
Location: New Jersey, USA

Background: I live in New Jersey, but was born in Pisa, Italy when my pops was in the military.  I have a fantastic, supportive family and am currently single, on the lookout for a tall, corn-fed guy and his pickup truck. I’m addicted to Law and Order, salted caramel, and cake popping!


When & how did you become a cake pop maker
?
I started making cake pops when I stumbled upon the wonderful Bakerella’s blog.  I’ve always been more of a chef in the kitchen then a baker, but looking at those adorable Halloween cake pops I just had to give them a try!  I stared making them for parties with friends and family, and the next thing I knew people started asking if they could give me orders for specific themes and parties of their own.  I was more than happy to oblige!

Do you bake as your full-time jobIf yes, how do you enjoy it?
I still do some freelance work as a casting director and production work for photography/video shoots in advertising, but I’m hoping to make “cake popping” my full time gig soon enough.  We’re finishing up our business plan in hopes to find a more permanent location.

What inspires you in your bakingHow do you come up with your original ideas?
I have a degree from the University of the Arts, and cake popping has been another creative outlet for me.  I love to take an idea and turn it into a tasty treat.

What would you consider to be your cake pop specialty?
I think our specialty is taking the client’s theme or idea, whether it be a TV Character, an animal or person, and making them into unique custom bite sized cake pops.  I enjoy the challenge of a detailed design.

What is your favorite thing about cake pops?
My favorite thing about cake pops is their versatility, they can be personalized for every occasion!  Although, I think the best thing about making cake pops, is the supportive feedback we receive from our fans and clients.

What was your reaction to finding out that you were one of the Top 5 most-nominated cake pop makers?
I was thrilled!  There are so many talented cake poppers out there, I was humbled to be included in the Poppies.  It means a lot to have so much support behind us.

Do you have any baking goals for 2012?
Ideally, settling in to our new location and spreading cake pop love!

What advice do you have for new cake pop makers?
Be creative, get original and be inspired by other cake poppers and HAVE PATIENCE!  Designs take time and effort, and remember cake pops are about happy things so don’t stress out!  Also, be respectful of the hard working cake poppers out there, we work really hard on coming up with new designs and be sure to give credit where credit is due!

What are some of your favorite cake pops that you’ve made?

Where can you find Lil Cutie Pops?

Website: http://www.lilcutiepops.com
Facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/LilCutiePops
What area do you serve/sell to? Anywhere in the USA
Do you ship your cake pops? Yes!
What’s the best way for people to order from you? Email, lilcutiepops@gmail.com

