Hi everyone!  Rest assured, this blog hasn’t been abandoned or disabled… its just been a little neglected while the holidays kicked my butt in December.  Seriously, one minute I was celebrating my wedding anniversary on October 23rd, then *poof* it’s my birthday, December 18th, then *poof* I’m counting down until midnight on New Year’s Eve… where does time go!

Speaking of New Year’s, call them what you will – resoultions, affirmations or goals – I have things I’d like to accomplish this year, some big & some small.  Because they all mean so much to me, I’m sharing them publicly because… well… this blogger says it best: “Public accountability is all about publicly stating your goals.  This could be via Social Media sites, to your peer group or even to strangers! By doing this we feel a responsibility to others to follow through with our goals.”

So here it is, in no particular order, my bucket list for 2012:

1. Organize my kitchen cupboards, especially those I designate for baking! Lately, when I remove something from a shelf, its like playing Jenga… especially the Tupperware shelf.

2. Be a better blogger! I have so many stories, ideas, tips and information to share with you all, but life got a little overwhelming there for a bit. Moving forward, I’m aiming for at least 2-3 posts a week.

3. Get healthy & active! 

3a. Lose weight. I’m pretty embarrassed about how high its gotten lately & I’m not brave enough to state the number just yet. I was keeping a pretty healthy lifestyle, doing the BCBSR just last May 2011 (see goal 3b).  But as the year trudged on, my health was less & less of a priority as my business ventures got busier and busier, and it caught up to me, big time.

3b. Participate in the 2012 Blue Cross Broad Street Run 10-Miler.  I did it in 2009, finishing in 2 hours 24 minutes & had to walk for part of it.  Then I did it in 2011, finishing in 1 hour 57 minutes and didn’t stop to walk at all!  I’m so very proud of my pics below, I want to keep adding to them!

3c. Participate in a mud run, hopefully this one.  My brother did it last year and it looked like SO much fun; I definitely wished I had participated alongside him – he ran with me in both Broad Street Runs!  He is 3.5 years younger than I am, and I’ve got to say, he is such an amazing support system. In our 2009 race, when I had to walk, I told him to run ahead and finish on his own.  In our 2011 race, he insisted on us finishing together, even though he could’ve easily dusted me.  Here’s a shot he snapped of me on his phone, around Mile 4, while jogging backwards (showoff, lol).

4.  Spend more quality time with friends! We always say “let’s get together”, then it doesn’t happen. This year I’m making a concerted effort to really follow through.

5. Start a family. Hubby and I have been trying for about a year now; we’re hoping & praying that 2012 is our year!  This is what makes goal 3 so important - get healthy to help further that process, as well as develop a permanent healthy lifestyle to be active parents & teach our future kiddos to be healthy.

That’s about it for now.  And to truly commit to this notion of public accountability, I pledge to post updates about this list on the first day of each month this year… I even set email-calendar reminders!  If I slip up, I give you full permission to call me out on it.

Do you have any resolutions or goals you’d like to accomplish this year?

