Tags

, ,

Show your ID to the bouncer and pull up a bar stool, these cake pops are not for kids!

While browsing Instagram last week, and I came across the most interesting picture from Cake Ball Love captioned as “shots!”…

What, what’s this?  Shots + cake balls? Immediately intrigued, I dashed to their Facebook page hoping to find more pictures… wow, check these out:

I got in touch with Pam from Cake Ball Love and asked if she could share some deets on her incredibly inventive idea.  Here’s what she told me…

  • I got the idea from a wedding event I recently went to. Another catering company was doing something similar, but with artisan chocolates.  My friends and I thought it would be such a great thing to do with cake balls! Determining flavor combinations was a new level of fun for me. I’m so driven by taste and flavor profiles. One of the issues I came across was that most of the liquor ideas I had to pair with my Chocolate Bliss cake balls were cream based and that sounded like a recipe for disaster. Cream liquors sitting out on a warm day- ew. So for the Urban Styles Summer Event, I finally came to three choices: Chocolate Bliss with Peppermint Schnapps, Lemon Zest with Blueberry Stoli, and Banana Bread with Butterscotch Schnapps (my fav). All were a hit! I’m really excited to come up with new combinations!  Oooh, maybe Amaretto or frangelico with chocolate or vanilla! Nom!

How awesome is that? I’m trying to decide if I’d squeeze the pipette to inject the shot into the cake ball, or if I’d pull it out, drink it straight and use the cake ball as a chaser… hmmm, decisions ;)

Then I got to wondering… what other alcohol-cake pop possibilities are out there?  To my surprise… there are quite a few!

Cake Pop Tutorial; alternate recipe with non-metric measurements

Margarita Cake Pops: made from fresh lemon cake infused with top shelf tequila, triple sec, fresh lime juice & fresh grated lime zest.

Red velvet cake pops infused with Remy Martin, a champagne cognac. (click pic for 2 other flavors)

Kahlua Bailey’s, Coconut Rum, Pomegranate Cosmopolitan & Pink Champagne cake pops.

What flavors would you want to try?

Cheers!

