Tags

,

All week we’ve been getting to know the most-nominated bakers from The Golden Poppies.  Today’s featured baker is THE WINNER of the Poppies, earning the top spot in each category: Best Sculpted Cake Pops, Best Cake Pop Photography, Most Original Cake Pop Design & Cake Popper of the Year.

Congratulations to Cake Pop My Heart!

Name: Kimberlee Robinson
Business Name: Cake Pop My Heart
Location: Houston, Texas

Background:
About me… Trying to think of something that other people would like to know that’s not too boring is difficult.  I was born and raised in California, so I am a California girl at heart!  I grew up spending a lot of time with my grandmother (Her nickname was Daisy, which is why I have a daisy in my logo) while my mom was taking care of my dad who was very sick at the time and then when my mom was working full time to take care of my brother and I. My grandmother was a genius in the kitchen and taught me everything I know when it comes to baking and decorating.  I still can’t cook though!

When I was 27, I moved to Texas with my husband about 2 months after we were married for his career.  I thought moving from the only place I’ve ever known, to Texas, was the worst possible thing that could happen to me.  Well it turns out, God knew what he was doing.  It was the best thing that could have happened to me and my to be.  Shortly after moving to Texas my husband and I found out we were pregnant!  We were very excited and extremely blessed.  After having our baby girl, I started feeling like being a stay at home mom was all that defined me.  So I picked up baking again just to have something for me and that I enjoyed.  I would offer to bake for any event possible, birthdays, holidays, because it’s a Fridays! :)  It became something I just loved to do and was very relaxing for me.  Eventually it turned into a little business.  Then Cake Pops were born and the thought of what you can do was endless.

When & how did you become a cake pop maker?
About a year ago after doing cakes and cupcakes for some time, I tried out cake pops.  I started just doing the simple ones.  Trying to figure out what worked for me.  As requests started pouring in, so did the creativity!

Do you bake as your full-time jobIf yes, how do you enjoy it?
Baking is something I do because I love and enjoy it.  It has become a full time job but because I can’t stop doing it.  I love it too much.

At times the over abundance of orders gets stressful, but I have to remind myself that I don’t have to take every order.  I can do as many as I’d like or as little as I’d like.  An even balance keeps it fun and enjoyable.

What inspires you in your baking?
I now have two daughters.  They are my inspiration for all that I do!  I love to see their faces light up when I show them a new pop.  They are my best and worst critics.  Well them and my husband!  If they can’t tell me who the character is, then I better do it over!  My husband is not afraid to tell me “you can make it better!” So I’ll do it over until he says “That’s perfect!, Spot on!”  Some times I just don’t ask cause I don’t want to hear it! :)  But he’ll tell me any way!

How do you come up with your original ideas?
Many of the ideas I have are because they are requested.  I’ll look at pictures of characters, or animals or whatever was requested and just do my best to make it as close to the picture as possible.  Some times I may not even have a request, it’s just something that I have been wanting to do and some nights I will have trouble sleeping because all these thoughts and ideas will fill my mind.

What would you consider to be your cake pop specialty?
I think my specialty pop and the ones I like to do the most are characters.  I love to come up with new ideas and new characters that I have never seen done before!  I love trying to make each detail perfect and precise.  I think that is what makes a great pop… the detail!

What is your favorite thing about cake pops?
My favorite thing about cake pops are how great they are to mold and how fun they are to decorate and add detail to.  Many people like to do one or two designs for an whole order, but what I love most is doing a whole collection.  I don’t like to limit what can be done!  Then of course the obvious… how wonderful cake pops taste!

What was your reaction to finding out that you were voted the 2011 Cake Popper of the Year?
I started jumping up and down… I couldn’t believe I was even nominated.  Never thought I would actually win.  I had no idea anyone even knew of me.  I’m pretty small time in comparison to everyone else and the competition was amazingly talented. I felt honored just to be among them.  But to actually win… was never expected.  I was actually out with my husband and girls when I got a text from my cousin telling me I won.  I thought she was mistaken, I rushed home to get on the computer to see it with my own eyes. It still didn’t seem possible. But I guess it was.  Still seems unreal to me!  But I’m extremely thankful!

What are some of your favorite cake pops that you have made?

Where can you find Cake Pop My Heart?
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Cake-Pop-My-Heart/
Website: http://www.cakepopmyheart.com

