Tags

, , ,

As you may or may not have heard, Beyonce and Jay-Z have welcomed their first daughter whom they’ve named Blue Ivy Carter… yep, Blue Ivy.  Do you know what the first thing is that I think of when I read these names? Souvenirs.

When I was younger and I’d go on a school field trip or a family vacation, for some reason my absolute favorite souvenir was finding something in the gift shop with my name on it, be it a pen, a key chain or those little mini license plates.  Even though they are in alphabetical order, it was still like some mini treasure hunt – spinning the racks around, scanning up and down, hoping they’d have my name in stock.

I always held out for “Kim”, however if I had to, I’d begrudgingly accept “Kimberly”.  Either way, I’d usually luck out.  But what gift shop is going to have a little license plate that says “Blue Ivy”?  Granted, lil’ Miss Blue’s parents could buy out the entire gift shop without breaking a sweat, but that’s not the point, lol.

At the end of the day though, I can’t rag on Bey & Jay too hard. There’s been some recent reports that have hypothesized about the origin of the name, and there seems to be some interesting logic behind it. I really do enjoy Beyonce & Jay-Z’s music, so rock on you two & congrats on your baby girl!

And for the record, it’s not the strangest celebrity baby name I’ve seen. My top three would have to be…

Audio Science (parents Shannyn Sossamon and Dallas Clayton)

Moxie CrimeFighter (parents Penn and Emily Jillette)

Pilot Inspektor (parents Jason Lee and Beth Riesgraf)

Celebrity chef Jamie Oliver and his wife Jools also have a flair for the the unique when naming their children: daughters Poppy Honey Rosie, Daisy Boo Pamela, Petal Blossom Rainbow and son Buddy Bear Maurice.

What are the craziest baby names you’ve seen?

